Governor Walker and the State Legislature have created a new “one-time” Child Sales Tax Rebate to return some of the $400 million dollar budget surplus to eligible taxpayers. It is a $100 rebate for sales and use tax paid on purchases made for raising a dependent child in 2017.
Who is eligible?
A person can claim the rebate if they have a child under the age of 18 as of December 31, 2017, who they were allowed to claim as a dependent. The child must be a United States citizen and a resident of Wisconsin on December 31, 2017. A $100 rebate is allowed for each qualified child, but only one person may claim the rebate for each child.
When can you apply?
There is going to be a very short window for applying for the rebate. You must apply between May 15, 2018 and July 2, 2018. Late claims will not be accepted.
How do you apply?
- Online at childtaxrebate.wi.gov, or
- By phone at (608)266-KIDS (5437)
Information to have ready:
- Your Social Security number
- If married, your spouse’s Social Security number
- Each child’s:
- Legal name
- Social Security number
- Date of birth
Don’t miss out on this one-time rebate opportunity!
Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. More information can also be found at https://childtaxrebate.wi.gov or by calling the Wisconsin Department of Revenue at (608) 266-5437. Feel free to share this information with family and friends who might also benefit.
Get more tax saving ideas!
Subscribe to get a biweekly email with our latest tax tips and planning ideas in your inbox.
Oops! We could not locate your form.